Sunny Summer Gatefold Card

I was experimenting with this gatefold card. A friend of mine sent me a similar card for my birthday this summer, but instead of the polka dot paper, she used a multi-colored ribbon against a white card. It was a lovely effect, so I played around with the idea for a bit and came up with this card using a decorative paper instead of ribbon.

My cardstock is the usual A4 size (8.5″  x 5.5″), but instead of the normal fold in the middle, I made a mental note of the halfway point (4 1/4″ if you hate math lol), and then made the creases on my Scor-Pal halfway from the halfway point (clear as mud?). So I scored my card at 2 1/8″ from each end, and that’s how to make a simple gate-fold card.

From there I used a border punch on the edges, put white cardstock inside and then another decorative strip of polka-dot paper that you can see from the outside. Add a few stickers to brighten up the outside, & you have a pretty gate fold card :).

Leave a Reply

