What does it mean to mat a photo?

When you’re new to scrapbooking like I was 5 years ago, you hear all these fancy terms and have no idea what they mean. One for me back then was the term, “mat your photo”. I had a vague idea because I had seen frames with mats in before, but what did it mean in scrapbooking?

Well, I found out that matting a photo in scrapbooking just means to cut a piece of paper slightly larger than your photo. That way you can attach the photo to the mat and make it stand out more on your scrapbook page. I’m a big fan of double matting, so I cut one piece of paper slightly larger than the photo, then another paper slightly bigger than that mat.

Here is a shadow box I made for my mother-in-law. You can see that the pictures have a cream colored mat, and then below that one is a green mat. Simple, easy & enhances your pictures!

Leave a Reply

